Department of Health Policy and Management

Written by:公共卫生学院 Last updated:2018-09-25

The Department of Health Policy and Management was founded in 1986. The Department was formerly named the Division of Health Services Management and its name was subsequently changed to the Social Medicine and Health Services Management Division in 1990. Another division, the Division of Health Economics, had been established in 1998 and, in 2002, these two divisions were merged into the Department of Health Policy and Management. The Department is a member of China Health Economics Training and Research Network (CHETRN).

In 2000, the Department launched its post-graduate education programme. Candidates can obtain a master-level degree in Social Medicine and Health Services Management by completing a three-year programme of study. In 2003, the Department launched the doctoral-level programme in Health Policy and Management and the first cohort of PhD students joined in 2004. PhD supervisors include: Professor HUANG Cunrui, Professor FANG Jiqian, Professor MENG Qun, and Professor YAO Zhibin. Supervisors for master-level students include: Professor CHEN Shaoxian, Associate Professor HU Zhenglu, Associate Professor KUANG Li, Associate Professor HUANG Yixiang, Adjunct Professor HUANG Fei, Adjunct Professor LIAO Xinbo, and Adjunct Professor GENG Qingshan.

The present chair for the Department is Professor HUANG Cunrui (2015- ). The previous chairs for the Department were: Professor ZHOU Jiongliang (1986-1990), Professor YE Yurong (1990-1995), Associate Professor GUO Qing (Vice-Chairman 1995-1998), Professor CHEN Jinhua (1998-2003), and Professor CHEN Shaoxian (2003-2015).

Main Achievements:
1. The Health Management Professional Training Centre of Guangdong Province, established in 1990, has linkages to the Department. The Centre also cooperates with the School of Public Health, Sun Yat-sen University, and the Department of Health of Guangdong Province. Over the past 20 years, the Centre has trained health management professionals within Guangdong Province systematically and regularly. The Centre offers health management training courses on a yearly basis. So far the Centre has hosted more than 30 training cohorts and the number of trainees has exceeded 3,000. The trainees represent many health care-related sectors in Guangdong province including health secretaries at different levels, hospital directors, directors of the Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), directors of health supervision institutions, directors of maternity and children’s hospitals as well as directors of township hospitals. The Centre has made great contributions to health management professional training and quality improvement.
2. During the most recent decade, the Department has conducted more than 100 different research projects funded by a variety of funding bodies including the Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC), the Ministry of Health, the International Youth Foundation, China Medical Board (CMB), and health care authorities of Guangdong, Hainan, and Fujian provinces. The total amount of funds contributed is estimated to be about 15 million RMB.
3. Based on its excellent research and provision of social services, the Department was honoured by “The Eleventh Five-Year Plan” as the Excellent Scientific Research Team of Sun Yat-sen University in 2012.
4. With regard to the Master of Public Health (MPH) programme which enrols around 80 MPH students every year, the Department has been responsible for the majority of core courses. Faculty from the Department have been considered as one of the Most Favourite Supervisors’ Teams.
5. A large number of research outcomes related to health development planning, health policy and health management have been widely adopted by local governments in the past ten years. These significant social and economic benefits demonstrate the leading role of the Department in the academe of southern China.
6. Our department has established close relationships and regular cooperation with various local health agencies in Guangdong province. This enriches the Department and provides high quality professional training resources for both undergraduate and postgraduate students.
7. The Department is recognised as the Health Technology Assessment Key Laboratory in Southern China, a distinction which provides substantial support for the further development of the Department.
8. The Department’s teaching philosophy reflects a commitment to excellence and innovation in both learning and teaching. The Department employs a wide range of experiential, problem-based, and case-based learning techniques. Students graduated from the Department are welcomed by the National Development and Reform Commission, the CDCs, the Health Administrative Departments, the Health Supervision Institutions, the Entry-Exit Inspection and Quarantine Institutions, other health-related local health institutions, and tertiary-level colleges and universities.
9. The Department has established extensive academic and research collaborations with overseas universities and other universities in China; these include Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, State University of New York at Albany, University of California at Los Angeles, University of Toronto, University of Glasgow, Queensland University of Technology, Griffith University, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Peking University, Fudan University and others.